Vuzenica is a clustered settlement situated on the alluvial plain of the Crkvenica stream. On the river Drava, in 1954, a run-off power station was built near the town and a year later a foundry was established. The timber industry is also well developed here. Vuzenica is one of the oldest settlements in the valley, first mentioned in 1238 and later in 1288 as a marketplace. The settlement developed in two parts: as the older part or Zgornji (upper), and younger part or Spodnji (lower) trg or market square. In the past
timber workers floated ''flosi'' here and transporters happily loaded their vehicles by the river Drava. There was always a lot of activity at the regular fairs held here. Walks through neighbouring Dravče and Šentjanž nad Dravčami are also beautiful in the autumn months. Above Zgornji trg stands the new castle – Štok, while above that, the ruins of the Old castle's remodelled Renaissance entry tower, with firing lines and the remains of a draw bridge have been preserved. Next to the local road to Vuhred stands the picturesque church of the Virgin Mary on a rock foundation. In the old town centre is the parish church of St. Nicholas. Located within the church are burial sites dating back to the Middle Ages and a plaque with the names of all the parish priests from the year 1045 on. There is a permanent display, dedicated to A.M. Slomšek in the presbytery.
timber workers floated ''flosi'' here and transporters happily loaded their vehicles by the river Drava. There was always a lot of activity at the regular fairs held here. Walks through neighbouring Dravče and Šentjanž nad Dravčami are also beautiful in the autumn months. Above Zgornji trg stands the new castle – Štok, while above that, the ruins of the Old castle's remodelled Renaissance entry tower, with firing lines and the remains of a draw bridge have been preserved. Next to the local road to Vuhred stands the picturesque church of the Virgin Mary on a rock foundation. In the old town centre is the parish church of St. Nicholas. Located within the church are burial sites dating back to the Middle Ages and a plaque with the names of all the parish priests from the year 1045 on. There is a permanent display, dedicated to A.M. Slomšek in the presbytery.